This is it

Looking for inspiration, I turned up my music player, put it on shuffle, and pressed play… and hear the “Graduation March Theme”. As I listened to its familiar melody, I remember my graduation in High School, and recall how it was easier back then compared than what I’m experiencing. Is life really like a game, advancing in difficulty as we grow?

Last Friday, Reg and I ate at a burger place and talked about how we only have two weeks to go until graduation. Two weeks! I have fought tooth and nail for everyday that I woke up in the past four years, and now, I stand at the threshold of victory. During our conversation, Reg brought up the movie Click, in which the character Adam Sandler plays gets a remote that controls time. Reg asked me if I could have that remote, would I use it?

While a part of me wants all of this to be over, I wouldn’t use that remote. It is not out of pride that I do, but out of a profound sense of strength that has grown within me through these years. While within me I feel dejected, tired, weary, deep within there is a power that overrides that fear, that hopelessness. How else would Reg and I be still standing after all these years of study, if not for this strength?

I have to say, there is wisdom in the quiet patience of work. As I look back, I see what all the trials have brought out within me – the best, the worst, the strong, the weak. These two, final weeks I shall give my all. I will never give up. This is it.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    March 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

