Graduating

Whenever some of my relatives come over, they ask about how I’m doing in school. I would always tell them: “Graduating na po.”

I say this word, and not the fact that I’m a 4th year BS Nursing student, in order to put pressure on myself. I’ve always known that I work best when there’s a little nudge tugging at my heartstrings. Telling this makes me inspired to face everyday’s challenges. Yet there is fear in my heart. I am afraid that I won’t make it, that I’m going to be inadequate.

I remember the Bollywood movie  “3 Idiots”, in a scene in which the main protagonist Rancho is talking to his friends on their fears. He put his hand on his chest and said: “You know, this heart is easy scared. Sometimes you have to trick it by saying aal izz well.” When I tell this to myself, I feel comforted for various reasons. For one, I realize how I share this sentiment with the millions of graduating college students around the world who are doing their best to become citizens of the future. I also gain a sense of perspective as I look back and see how far I’ve traversed, and how far I have to go. Lastly, I feel strengthened to do my very best.

I realize how much I’ve given up towards this end. In economics, there is such as thing as a trade-off, the price one pays to attain something. I realize that I’ve given up a lot of time with my family and friends, time for myself, and time for those activities that I love. I’ve been burnt out many times. Right now, I’m feeling burnt out to do what is required. I’m narcoleptic nowadays, and I sometimes forget to eat. (Heh, I should take care of myself better.)

There’s this great blog post I want to share from a site I frequent. It talks about the Law of Sacrifice. According to the entry, the law entails that “you cannot get something you want, without giving up something in return.” The implications of this law has taught me that those good fortunes that we have do not come overnight. One has to work hard in order to get them. Another implication that I’ve found is that adhering to this law builds your character in such a way that you learn to develop gratitude at what you have, and not take them for granted.

As I continue to read about great leaders who have revolutionized the world, I found out that they have given up their time, their tears, their sweat and blood, in order to be who they are. What I observed was not pointed out in the history books is that they also gave up their cowardice, their ignorance, their insecurity, their helplessness. I have realized that hard work is only part of the equation for success; one has to have the qualities that define the successful person to complete the formula.

As of right now, my countdown timer says that I have 8 months, 12 days, and 4 hours until I’m done with this course. I cannot give up my dreams when the goal is very close. I have to keep fighting on. This April 2012, I’m graduating.

By the way, I’m making a new page in my blog called “Everyday a New Day.” I realized how I keep forgetting those lessons I’ve learned in the past. Hopefully, I can find something to learn every single day. Cheers!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Go go go! Ready na pom poms ko for you. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Got to read your blog again after a while. Long story. 😛

    Now I feel slightly more optimistic about graduation.

    Thanks, Jian. See you around!

    Reply
    • jian5

       /  September 11, 2011

      Hey Paula! It’s been a while. We can do this! We’ll graduate on time, no matter how long it takes 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    July 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

