Le Piledrive

Disclaimer: The title was suggested by my roommate, Mr. Godolivo Urbiztondo III.

There is a beat that I try to keep
This beat I keep that pounds in sync
The cars passing by provide the riff
In an acoustic rendering of urban anomie.

Yes, the city sure is lonely
Despite the millions of people who pass
One brushes with the common man’s elbows
Yet that is all, that is all, proves nothing.

Our walls shake with every punch to the earth
Yet they will not break, for our walls are strong
Our ceilings leak of rain, drip-drip-dripping
Yet we will not share this blessing and curse.

The piledriver is much more human
Than the human who piledrives into nature’s bosom
It smashes its fists with every sorrow
A prayer for reprieve for its daily tribulation.

The noise, the anomie, all are but dust
That we shake off our shoulders
For another moment, another day, another lifetime
Building more walls.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. The only reason I can relate to this is because I’ve been to your apartment. Otherwise, again, Jian, mind blown. — Mia

    Reply
  2. I can’t delete my comment and now I’m spamming. Sorry

    This is the link to my personal blog. I “volunteer” for the other one. sorry 🙂

    *hopes this one works* Just delete my spamming if it’s annoying…

    Reply
  3. jian5

     /  May 25, 2011

    Hi Mia! It’s been a while since I made a poem that’s inspired from daily life. Took me 2 years to notice it though. I’ll link you up here, thanks for the link :))

    Reply
  4. I personally think that daily life is the perfect inspiration. Keep on writing, kapatid. Magaling ka.

    Reply
    • jian5

       /  May 25, 2011

      Thank you! Gusto ko din makitang maraming post ang blog mo 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    May 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

