She

When I was a kid of about 5 or 6, I used rectangular scrap pieces of paper to write trivia tidbits on. I would get this trivia from books I would read. Then I would draw a cute little picture depicting the trivia written. After writing and drawing all of these trivia I would lay my little hands on, I would then stick the pieces of paper together with some adhesive tape, which I would then roll into a scroll.

I called them, (you guessed it,) “The Knowledge Scrolls”.

All my life, I’ve never really wanted anything so badly than knowledge. The adage “Ignorance is bliss” may hold true for some, but for me, it is an annoying question that seeks an answer.

When we were children, we first learned to ask “Who is that person giving me some food? What is the taste of this banana? Where am I? When did this day start?” And as we grew, we started asking: “Why can’t I go to that event next week?” and “How can I ‘persuade’ my parents?” When we were children, we had these five question words to explore the large world we inhabit, and we learn. We go to school to learn, and we live life to learn. I’ve done all of these, yet the more I know, the more there is to know.

Knowledge is an elusive mistress; she is her own, free spirit, and no one that is chained within this body can captivate her. As a child, I tried to make her mine, yet it was she who made me into who I am. As I grew, it was she who saved me from my errors, and it was she who taught me the lessons I bitterly found out. As I write this, I remember the little scroll meant to seal the universe within a tiny hand.

No, she was never mine to keep.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    November 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

