Perspective

Paoay Church
“Al perderte yo a ti tú y yo hemos perdido:
yo porque tú eras lo que yo más amaba
y tú porque yo era el que te amaba más.
Pero de nosotros dos tú pierdes más que yo:
porque yo podré amar a otras como te amaba a ti
pero a ti no te amarán como te amaba yo.”

When you left me, both you and I lost,
I lost because I loved you with all my heart,
And you because I loved you to the utmost,
But of the two of us, it is you who has lost the most,
Because I can love another like the way I loved you,
But you will never be loved by anyone the way I loved you.

– Al Perderte Yo a Ti in Epigramas, Ernesto Cardenal, 1978

December 23, 2008, Paoay Church, Ilocos Norte

For a clip of Ernesto Cardenal reading his poem, click here

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Aw… is this the issue you mentioned the other week?

    *nods at this post’s sentiments*

    I’m sure you’ll find someone who’ll love you the way you should be loved. 🙂

    Reply
  2. jian5

     /  March 28, 2010

    Haha, oh this? I just liked the quote so I posted it. But now that you mentioned it, it does have a meaning that extends beyond the reasons why I posted it in the first place. And yes, we’re going to find them, hahahaha.

    Reply
  3. EMO. 😛 Let’s talk again when you get back? TKD date on Saturday, please? 🙂

    Reply
  4. jian5

     /  April 17, 2010

    Uy, kakadate lang natin ah. Jejejeje.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    March 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

