Unnamed Girl

I always remember her.

One afternoon of 1995, when I was a kid of about 5 years, I remember playing at a McDonald’s in Marcos Highway with my brother, who was 2 years younger than I. Our order was still fifteen minutes off, so my brother and I played at that kiddie playground found there.

I remember leaving my brother playing at the plastic ball pool while I busied myself playing at the slide. The slide was red and spiral-shaped, and I played there until I got bored. Then I heard my little brother having a fight. I went to the plastic ball pool and saw him having an argument with a little girl, who I think was about his age.

I went as quickly as I could to my brother, and pushed the little girl to the pool. (When you’re a kid, you don’t know that chivalry’s still alive and kicking.) Then someone punched me at the back. It was the little girl’s sister, I have come to assume, and she was striking with a vengeance for her little sister, who was now crying by the plastic ball pool side.

It all happened so quickly. I can still hear the cacophonous crying of my little brother and the little girl, and the fight I was having with that girl who was about my age. We were rolling on the playground floor, playing a game of rugby, sans the ball.

Then time suddenly froze. A voice called out to the girl’s name, a voice loud as Pa’s. It was the girl’s father, now looking at me with a cold stare that I couldn’t look back at. As I looked away from him, I saw Ma and Pa looking at Choi, then looking at me, with an expression of shock and… was it disappointment? The girl’s father gathered his children and left. As quickly as it had started, it had come to an end.

I always remember her, the unnamed girl. She had long black hair, was a little taller than I was, and had fierce eyes. I wish I could say more, unfortunately, I don’t remember the face that made me write this entry.

Why do I write this, you ask? It is because I want to seek forgiveness after all these years.

If you’re reading this now and remember having a wrestling bout with a little buck-toothed boy wearing shorts with a Beatles-like haircut during an afternoon of 1995 in a McDonald’s in Marcos Highway, then maybe you’re the girl I’ve always been trying to find. I’m sorry for pushing your little sister into the plastic ball pool, and I’m sorry for that amateur wrestling bout. I hope that this reaches you in some way. If we do meet, I hope we can meet as friends and laugh this crazy event off history.

Until our paths cross again, unnamed girl.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Dude! Small world. I can’t believe that was you all along…

    Kidding, Jian & unnamed girl. *peace*

    Pero that aside, I know that should she chance upon this, she’ll forgive you. This post btw is very mature of you… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. jian5

     /  November 4, 2009

    Woah, I knew you looked familiar!

    Haha, I hope she chances upon this. Thanks!

    Reply
  3. meeyamia

     /  November 5, 2009

    As always, you stun me with your writing style. Even the simplest of topics become masterpieces. But alas, you’re too smart for me, you lost me at “cacophonous.” Just kidding!

    Reply
  4. jian5

     /  November 5, 2009

    Hi Mia! Awww, thank you for saying that! ๐Ÿ˜€ And I know that you already looked up the dictionary for that word, so like Sachi always says, “That’s another new word for the day!”. Take care!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    November 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

