The Last Push Syndrome

I have this bad habit of becoming lazy during the last days of classes. With the promise of vacation just around the corner, I can’t help but sleep and have fun, forgetting that I have a ton of papers to submit and a succession of exams for this week. I just feel burned out sometimes, and this is one of those times when I just wish that all of this could be over.

I call these periods of laziness the “Last Push Syndrome”. This syndrome is caused by the inability of a person to focus himself on a task because he feels that they’re too much for him to handle. The syndrome is manifested by signs of laziness, such as sleeping until 10 in the morning, going out, procrastinating, and more procrastinating. The symptoms of the syndrome include a feeling of apathy towards work and indecisiveness towards what to do. There is currently no medication for this unfortunate disease. The only way to cure it is by an iron will and personal choice. Complications of the disease includes a feeling of worthlessness and insecurity, which can lead to a variety of systemic effects. The repercussions of the disease extends towards eternity if not promptly treated.

I remember feeling the world was my oyster a few weeks ago. Anything the world would give, I knew I could handle. What a difference today, as I write this. I feel that I have lost my focus towards what I should be doing. It seems that I have lost sight of what I am fighting for.

So what am I fighting for? I am fighting for my family, who never failed to believe in me. I am fighting for all of my friends, who I’ll have a great time with when the break comes. I am fighting for Diego, my nephew, to whom I should be a good role model. I am fighting for the all the sick people in the world, who expect me to serve them in the future. I am fighting for my country, to whom I owe everything I am. I am fighting for myself, to be the best person I can be.

I remember Sir David, our 4th year Math teacher’s words in my heart:

Quitting is putting a permanent solution to a temporary problem.

Now that I look back at it, even though 4th year Math class was hell on earth, the difference was that I didn’t give up. Looking back, there were a lot of challenges that life gave me that made me trip and fall. I now realize that it’s alright to fall, but after falling, it’s important to stand up, brush yourself up, and try, try, try.

Today I have fallen to the Last Push Syndrome. Today I shall rise once again.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. LPS. I like the term. And yes, after the ER experience, I also felt myself pushed out of my own LPS.

    WP should have a *like* button. I’m liking this entry very much. ^_^

    Reply
    • jian5

       /  October 18, 2009

      Wow, that was a quick reply. I just posted this entry 5 minutes ago… Hahaha. I think they should include this in DSM-V (how nerdy of me…) Anyways, let’s kick the LPS out! Thanks Paula!

      Reply
  2. kbugal

     /  October 19, 2009

    oh no jian, nakakahawa rin ata to.

    Oh hindeeee.. T_T

    Reply
  3. Kbugal

     /  October 24, 2009

    Jian! Sembreak naaa! Wooot!

    Reply
  4. The Symbiote

     /  October 24, 2009

    DSM-V! Looking forward to it… =))

    Good luck on your remaining exams. 😀

    Reply
  1. 5 Lessons Learned From Jogging | Oliman

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    October 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

