Neda

Dear Neda,

I do not know you, and you do not know me.

Today I found out about your life. I saw a video of what happened to you as I was reading the news on the Internet today. Funny, but I didn’t see this on the news in my country. All we do is talk and bicker about sex videos, fertilizer funds, constitutional assemblies, automated elections, and presidential speeches.We didn’t realize that you’re gone now. I bet that the world knows what happened to Michael Jackson and Farrah Fawcett  more than they realize what happened to you. It is unfortunate, but for the world, this will just be another news about the Iranian post-election violence.

I cried as I heard the people around you screaming. The words were unintelligible, babbles, a cacophony of terror, of horror, of pain. I saw the people around you pressing over your heart. I saw your eyes stare into the camera, swelling, swelling larger, closing.

Peace be to you, sister. May justice be served.

May we never forget.

The following video contains graphic and disturbing content. Please do not view this if you aren’t comfortable with such videos.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. As long as there are those who remember what people like Neda have fought for, they’ll never be forgotten. 🙂

    Kinda sad how people rally around the DOJ as onlookers every Friday to catch a glimpse of Halili and Kho instead of coming together for greater causes… [insert long list of causes worth the attention] o_o

    See you ’round school~! ^_^

    Reply
    • jian5

       /  July 3, 2009

      Hey Paula! I know! There are other things worth thinking about when you come to think of it. See you around!

      Reply
  2. You Know You Love Me :)

     /  June 29, 2009

    Let me quote you:

    “It is unfortunate, but for the world, this will just be another news about the Iranian post-election violence.”

    It’s all just relative. What’s news to us is trivia to the rest of the world. Some people may actually care about what’s happening in other countries, but the truth is many people just can’t be bothered. I know, it’s so cynical, especially coming from me. Do you find it odd when I get cynical about things?

    You don’t need to look to other countries for that, except here you’ll be hardpressed to find any evidence. This kind of violence is the truth of our world, much as I hate to admit it. But that doesn’t mean it has to be the truth of the next generation’s world. We who are far better off have a responsibility to people like this Iranian girl, and in my humble opinion our responsibility takes the form of education. Though education will never be enough, it’s the best start we have.

    Sorry, mejo cryptic. You can ask me about it when I visit on Thursday. 🙂

    Reply
  3. jian5

     /  July 3, 2009

    Wow. You and your rose colored glasses.

    I guess education is the best option we have. I hope that the next generations won’t have to go through these things.

    Reply
    • Lovely lovely me :)

       /  July 5, 2009

      I don’t have rose tinted glasses, thank you very much. You’re the one with all the filters and prejudices.

      Education is the best START, but it’s not enough. People have to be motivated to do something. Plus, hoping is all well and good but it’s not really helpful. People who are here now are responsible for ensuring, in their own small way and in their own little spheres, that tomorrow will be much much better.

      Whoo! I’m soooo poetic.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    June 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.
    -Jian Narag, 2005-2017
