Student Blues

Fourth year high school, they said, would be a walk in the park. As it turns out, it’s tougher than third year, when we had to tackle Chemistry, World History, Noli Me Tangere, Geometry, Western Literature, to name a few. I would spend the nights then burning the midnight oil, working until dawn to finish projects and reports due the next day. Then there would be plays to plan, and videos to shoot. Then I thought I had met the toughest times of my life.

But I was wrong. Fourth year’s just as tough, probably even tougher. Now I have to work extra harder each day to come up with reports I deem, “Unsatisfactory”. Maybe I’m just being perfectionistic. But I really want to do my best in everything I do. But I just can’t find the time to do all that I need to do at once. I come to school half-awake, I fall asleep at class, and I find it hard to focus because of fatigue. And I keep messing up things at least once each day, which makes me feel disappointed at myself. And so I wonder: did I change? Whatever happened to who I was?

Maybe I’m not yet used to these things. I guess it’s still too early to pass judgment on myself. I’ve been through a lot of challenges already, and I can’t let these stand in my way, lest I let all my endeavors go to waste. I must fight, I must never give up. There are those who have it harder than I have, and to let the currents sweep me away would be an insult to them. I must fight, I must never, ever give up, for all those who still believe in me.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. you just need some R&R. ๐Ÿ™‚ even machines need time to rest so that their performance doesn’t decline, and so that they don’t break down. what more ikaw na tao? right? am i right? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. yes, I think I do. haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    July 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

