Necessary Evil

Problems seem to be a part of human life. In fact, it’s been ingrained within us for as long as we can remember, and it’s been with our predecessors since time immemorial. From the smallest to the largest, from the most powerful to the weakest, all that live have an enemy to contend with.

A necessary evil to shape us, to empower us, to strengthen us.

The world, sadly, isn’t a place for the weak and unmindful. In this world, boldness combined with tact is the recommended attitude. People who succeed are people who fight the battles against themselves and against their neighbors and make themselves better after, regardless of victory or of defeat. I personally think that there is no such thing as a failure. Only the potential to grow and become better, and I quote from Mrs. Ginny, “0’s [grades] are potentials!”. While it would certainly help to have skill and knowledge, all in all, ingenuity and enthusiasm are what really count in the long run.

I’m a perfectionist. I strive to do things as ideally as possible. And when I fail to meet such expectations, I feel a sense of being vulnerable and weakness. So I’ve built a wall around me to “protect” me from ever being hurt again, yet this same wall blocked out the light that stunted my growth. We’ve all built walls around ourselves at one point in our lives like I did. So I turned to those who’ve experienced such mishaps and they all tell me the same thing, much to my awe: “It’s just the beginning of all you’ll face.”.

And indeed it is, I now realize. Gird up thy loins, and make ready.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    April 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

