Salamat

Sixteen years ago, a child was born out of love between two people. He was like any other boy who loved to eat, had an insatiable curiosity, and occasionally returned home with cuts and bruises. He loved to study and read books from a wide variety of topics, from facts to the occasional fairy tale, from dinosaurs to space travel, from ancient history to modern megastructure, novels of many races of many times. He loved to play sports, basketball, soccer, badminton, tennis, volleyball, patintero, tayaan, tumbang preso, you name it. He loved his parents even though he didn’t show it most of the time, he loved everybody, and is still willing to give it to all.

He faced many challenges that tested his faith and personality. I admit, he had a rough journey through all that has happened. He’s been beaten, bullied, insulted and discouraged many times over and over again but he still stands strong. He’ll never give up, “Fight!” is his battlecry.

Like every one of us, he was created human, imperfectly perfect in many ways. He can be strange to some, fascinating to others. He can be your best friend, or your worst enemy. He can be the silent type, or the open person. He’s a man of many faces, of shifting tides and of few words. Until now, he can’t even figure out who he really is. But still, he’ll be ready.

I’ve always believed that my life has been a search for who I truly am. And at this age psychologists describe as “the age of searching for identity”, I can’t help but reflect on my past, to see who I was, who I am, who I’ll be. And even today, I can’t fully understand myself. I have these impulses that trigger various reactions, thoughts that come out of the blue, and emotions uncertain as the future. But I don’t have to understand myself to love myself better. I love who I am, even though the world doesn’t. This is what makes me unique, makes me stand out and stand strong. And I love it.

Sixteen years, such a short time is it not? I can still remember those better days locked away in my heart. Life is just so short. It’s quick to pass and unpredictable. And through these years, I realize that all I wanted to do was to enjoy my life to the fullest, and enjoy these remaining days with those I love. It’s been a quick sixteen years. I can still remember climbing a mango tree, and the next second I see myself right here, typing away these thoughts.

I’m grateful to Him for giving me such a great life, a life that never goes bland. All those challenges that strengthened me, all those achievements I earned, all those people I met along the way, I know He was behind all of these things. And for that I want to thank Him for all that He has done. May He bless and protect us all. Amen.

This is not the end. It’s only the beginning.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. waahh happy bday uli πŸ™‚

    alam mo, ang sarap magcomment sa mga sulat mo pero nakakatamad pa mag log-in eh! maglipat ka na ng dedicated blog server!

    isama mo na rin si ms mace! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  2. jian5

     /  May 27, 2009

    Uy, tagal na nito ah. Thanks Mark! Nilipat ko na, tulad ng sabi mo. Ingats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    April 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

