Better

“How are you doing?” is probably the most difficult question to answer for most people. It’s like asking the meaning of life, the purpose of our existence. Such a simple question, yet such a complicated answer. “How are you doing?” I’m OK?

Humans are two-faced creatures. We have a face that we show to others, and a face we keep to ourselves. A happy mask to cover the sorry soul within. We live in a world full of lies. Even I myself, am a lie. It’s such a shame , but it’s a reality we have to face. For such a long time I have worn a mask, a smile to hide what I feel inside. But I can feel it: there’s something in me that yearns to be free. Like a man in chains, struggling to break loose from the darkness within. And he’s stronger. He’s stronger than I’ll ever be.

I wish this man would break free. Yet I myself am the obstacle to his dreams. With every hurt, with every pain, I force him to go back. Go back to the darkness. And what remains is a miserable soul, who realizes he’s lost himself again in the plains of despair.

I’ve always believed that there’s something special within everyone of us. There’s gold within, just waiting to be unearthed, processed and utilized. And I can see it in everyone. There’s a wo/man in chains in everyone, just waiting to break free. And they’re stronger, stronger than we’ll ever be.

These people inside people… They’re better, they’re greater than any of us. Why? Because they are the honest, God-fearing, caring and humble people that we aspire to be. And they’re in here, waiting to finally break the mask hiding them from the light.

Previous Post
Next Post
Comments are closed.
  • Calendar

    April 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

