Epilogue

Summer’s almost here, and the schoolyear’s almost over. I can still remember that first day… that awkard silence emanating within, those doubtful smiles, those suspicious thoughts…

I can still remember it as if it were just yesterday, when I met the weirdest batch of students. I don’t know how we did it, but we survived! Everyday of the school year, we had tests, we had projects, we had other things to do… yet we managed. In our class, each one of us is different, each one is unique. There’s the jocks, the rockers, the computer whizzes, the Kumon boys, the jokers, the debaters, the Morning boys, among many others. Though we had these “groups” in our class, we’re still one in our mission- to do our time, and have a great future!

Everyday we support each other, our mere presence as a group strengthens each one of us, including this grateful heart. Everyday we assist each other in doing schoolwork[, you know what I mean.]. And when we have group projects to do, instead of being frustrated, we use the time to have fun and strengthen the bonds that link us together. Everyday we talk about anything under the sun, from romance to politics, from faith to what lies ahead. We didn’t notice it at first, but even though each one of us had that hidden gold within [that would be more than enough to face the challenges of everyday life], we still needed each other. No man is truly an island.

A great, fruitful year has been given to me. I’ve met new friends, volunteered for some social groups and I took a shot at public speaking in our school. On the home front, I made new friends, strengthened some loose connections, and grew. But, as my mother always says: “You’ll still be a baby for me, and you’ll forever be…” I’m still young and I have a lot to accomplish. That’s one step for man, one giant leap for me!

I’ll miss these people, every last one of them…

This song ripples through my heart, and I hope it will to you too.

If We Hold On Together, composed by James Horner and Will Jennings

Don’t lose your way
With each passing day
You’ve come so far
Don’t throw it away
Live believing
Dreams are for weaving
Wonders are waiting to start
Live your story
Faith, hope & glory
Hold to the truth in your heart

If we hold on together
I know our dreams will never die
Dreams see us through to forever
Where clouds roll by
For you and I

Souls in the wind
Must learn how to bend
Seek out a star
Hold on to the end
Valley, mountain
There is a fountain
Washes our tears all away
Words are swaying
Someone is praying
Please let us come home to stay

If we hold on together
I know our dreams will never die
Dreams see us through to forever
Where clouds roll by
For you and I

When we are out there in the dark
We’ll dream about the sun
In the dark we’ll feel the light
Warm our hearts, everyone

If we hold on together
I know our dreams will never die
Dreams see us through to forever
As high as souls can fly
The clouds roll by
For you and I

I would like to acknowledge all the good people who have helped me throughout these years, my family, my friends and of course, God Himself. I can feel his power passing through me, as I feel his power passing through these good people. I would like to acknowledge our class adviser, Mrs. Ma. Lourdes Sta. Maria for giving us a splendid sophomore year! Have a wonderful summer!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    March 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

