A Veteran’s Advice

Taking the exams is a war. It’s a war not between you and that piece of paper, but a war against yourself. Only you can determine your fate, that is, to pass or to fail. Only you can make it happen, a great summer or summer school.

So what can we do? What can we do to pass? Frankly, I’m really not sure. I guess you just need to have an arsenal of stocked knowledge, a good analytic strategy, an iron will and an open mind. Come to think of it, exam-taking is really like going to war. And in a war you have to be prepared. You just don’t go out in the open without a weapon in hand, right?

But even though you have all these, you still won’t succeed if you don’t have a good support system. Behind every great wo/man is his/her family and his/her friends. I’m ever-thankful to have a fallback when the need arises. My family and my friends, through their encouragement, have provided me with the inspiration I need to fuel my passion, my fire. We need them as much as we need the answers to the next test, remember that.

“Nasa Diyos ang awa, nasa tao ang gawa”. Face it, we need God to help us. In my life I think of it as a 50-50 deal, you do your part, and He’ll do His. Don’t do your part, but He’ll still give you that 50. But only a deus ex machina can save you from summer school. So do your part, and with Him by your side, anything is possible. I make it a practice to pray everyday to thank Him for all that He has done, for the fact that I’m still breathing, and the fact that the world hasn’t gone mad [yet]. I seek solace in the Lord, mercy for my sins, help for the messes I’m in, and the strength to go on. Prayer has this strange effect of reassurance. If you pray, you’ll know what I mean. Try it.

The most important thing I’ve ever learned from taking the exams is that it is not the true measure of a person. Every single one of us is special, and a bunch of questions won’t really say if a person’s damned or saved. A test won’t tell you who you are. So why be disappointed if by any chance, God forbid, you may fail? I’ve met smart people who were jerks, and simple people “who knew more”. I know what you’re thinking, so why take the exams if they aren’t true measures of a person? My friend, the exams only seek to prepare you for the greatest exam of all: life. So acquire all the knowledge you can, obtain all the values you can find and gain the strength for life. My mother always says to me that a good education is the only true inheritance they can give, for it cannot be taken away unlike money, power and possessions that are as uncertain as tomorrow.

A final advice: Fight!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    March 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.
    -Jian Narag, 2005-2017
