Young Blood

Some of us blame society for the moral decline going on in our country. Some of us blame the government, while others blame the media for such a great decline in our morality. But in truth, we should blame ourselves for the mess that we’re in.

The family is the basic unit of this nation. The Philippine Constitution states this clearly in Article XV. From the family a child learns how to become obedient, how to become responsible, how to become a good person. It is the responsibility of the parents to take care of their children, that they may grow up with the virtues of honesty, humility and integrity. Moral decline starts from the family. It starts when people grow up in a hostile environment. It starts with neglect.

I feel so helpless whenever I see a child about the age of 3 to 4 years old walking alone in the streets, dodging cars, begging for alms, fighting to stay alive. "They shouldn’t be out there." I say to myself. "Where are their parents!? Don’t they know that their children are their responsibility?". And I think to myself: "This boy/girl is still so young… by five s/he would be doing drugs… by seven or eight, his/her first petty crime… by twelve, robbery… by sixteen, murder… by eighteen, s/he would be dead or [hopefully], in prison." I feel so helpless. I can’t do anything… I can’t help them… I can’t even help myself. Pathetic.

Children all over the world are being deprived of their rights as we speak. The right to live, the right to be heard, the right to be protected… It seems that the world has neglected its responsibilities to the young. Children are being exploited, abused and are being killed as we speak.

The hope of the future out in the streets… working when they should’ve been studying… using drugs instead of growing up… losing hope instead of living a good life.

I’m not writing this because I’m being deprived of my rights or anything- My parents have raised me well. They have given me a warm home and a nurturing environment. The reason why I’m writing this is because of the helplessness within me, the feeling that I could’ve done something. My conscience bothers me all the time. I’ve talked about this many times with my parents and they tell me that I shouldn’t worry too much. But inside me, this feeling persists…

What can I do? Help me.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    January 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

