The Calling

“Me… a priest?” Hahaha… It’s impossible. If you’re probably one close friend, you’ll know why.

But my teacher said I had potential… She said that I would be one someday…

I’ve heard many stories of vagrants becoming the holiest of men. Take Saint Augustine, for example. Before he became that holy man, he was a womanizer, has a problematic mind and a restless soul. But one day, he decided to walk in a garden to ease his mind from the tensions around… When he approached the walls, he heard a child at the other side chanting the word “Tolle, lege” (take and read…). To his surprise, he saw a Bible under the tree, and he decided to read it…

His eyes fell on Romans 13:13-14 “Let us live honorably as in daylight; not in carousing and drunkenness, not in sexual excess and lust, not in quarreling and jealousy. Rather, put the Lord Jesus Christ and make no provision for the desires of the flesh…”

This changed Saint Augustine’s life completely… He became a Bishop of Hippo and was one of the foremost defenders of the Christian faith…

If that could happen to an ordinary, sinful man, how much to us?

Hehe… Is this a call? Is this a sign? Maybe… maybe not.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Priesthood for Jian?

    NAHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!

    In my own opinion, bro,

    You’ll be better of doing something not too religion related.

    And one more thing,

    I think I already read that story somewhere.

    Shame I can’t remember where.

    All the best.

    Reply
  2. pari?!? inde ka bagay! demonyito! AAHH! pwde cguro, pari ng kasamaan!!! wakekekekekeke!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  3. Being an Augustinian at heart, I have to say that I’ve NEVER heard this story ever [especially in my seven years of being taught in CL class about Augustine every August]. At least on the part where a little kid in the garden says “Tole, lege.”

    You? A priest? I got the closet-conservative believer vibes from you. But not the priest vibes. Sorry. 😛

    Just reading around your blog. ^_^

    Reply
  4. jian5

     /  February 21, 2009

    Paula! Thanks for reading my blog! Haha. I was young. Two years can change a man though. And the Augustinian story was told by my teacher years ago. So if there are any corrections, just let me know. Haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    December 2005
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jan »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Oliman

    For people who love to think.

    Jian Carlo R. Narag, MD

    2005-2017

